Crown Grill Saratoga Springs NY

Crown Grill Crowns

Recent Reviews

"Thank You"
November 28, 2015

Ashley, I wanted to thank you and your staff for making our rehearsal dinner on November 13th great! The service we received was remarkable; I truly appreciate the staff working that evening. The guests in attendance all traveled in from out of town and their experience at Crown Grill was memorable; everyone left happy and very full! The food was outstanding, Jeff and I received many rave reviews. Please pass along our thanks to your staff and chef(s), Crown Grill is one of our favorite restaurants and we were excited to share it with our friends and family. Have a great Holiday season! Thank you once again,

Veronica & Jeff Shorr

 

"5 star Dinner on 2.12.2015 with my wife"
February 12, 2015

Everything we had was amazing, truly. Pork empanadas appetizer, perfectly cooked Maple Leaf Farm grown duck with apples, mashed potatoes and just crisp enough seasonal vegetable. My wife had the special entree which was house-made pappardelle with lobster ( a lot of lobster), fresh peas, pea sprouts, asparagus in a light cream sauce with a dash of vanilla...amazing, both entrees really. The service was professional, warm and friendly. Dessert carried it through with beautiful, elegant creme brulee and perfectly moist and dense carrot cake with white chocolate cream cheese frosting. Overall, we could not have asked for a better time in a restaurant anywhere.

Mike Phillips

 

“One of the best dinners we've ever had!”
December 30, 2014

This review is LONG overdue, but though it's been months (July 2014), I still haven't forgotten the unbelievable meal we had at the Crown Grill, by a new chef who had only been there a couple of months (since March?). First of all, the place has a library room. Any restaurant that has a book room or a library room already deserves a gold star. But the FOOD - wow, the FOOD! We had the Cuban empanadas (to DIE for), the lobster chevre tart, the Crown Market salad, a swoon-in-your-seat ravioli dish in cream sauce that doesn't even seem to be on the menu at the moment (perhaps it's a summer item), and a perfect grilled salmon with a side of mushroomy orzo that was so delicious we asked for a whole other bowl of orzo to share amongst ourselves. I am salivating just remembering this meal. The only misstep was the server assumed we weren't having dessert (just because we had pigged out so much on the amazing food?) and brought us our bill prematurely - something that always annoys me - but we got a little complimentary bite of a dessert we hadn't ordered along with the dessert(s) we did order, so I guess we can't complain. Service was actually super-attentive in general. Very, very happy with the Crown Grill. Looking forward to our next visits to Saratoga!

Isabel L - Tripadvisor.com

 

“Exceptional experience!”
December 22, 2014

Just getting over a family tragedy and just wanted a no hassle meal and atmosphere. This was definitely the place to go. MikeO our Server was the best. The meals were the best and we are picky! One of the owners took us on a tour next door which is great for kids. Marvelous time. Thanks. They made our day!!

BBTraveler9 - Tripadvisor.com

 

“Best Restaurant in Saratoga”
December 19, 2014

Great food and excellent service. Staff is very friendly. Highly recommend getting Mathew for your waiter. He can tell you the best actor, actress, supporting actor, .. for any year. Truly amazing guy. I have dined at many restaurants in the area and still return to the Grill for the best dining experience. I have brought several customers to the restaurant and they have been very accomodating. Place is quiet enough to have a conversation while eating dinner.

Don C - Tripadvisor.com

 

"A Good Mix of My Faves"
September 15, 2014

Another of my recommendations is my favorite place to have a quiet, relaxing meal in downtown Saratoga,The Crown Grill. An extensive wine and cocktail list with food that is consistently deliciousl often times, we'll stop in just for the wine. Christel and Colin really know how to make you feel welcome and well tended to. Consider The Crown Grill for your catering and private parties.

Kathleen Schnitzer - Equitas Realty

 

“Excellent Food and Service!”
September 13, 2014
We stopped here for lunch one day when we were visiting in Saratoga. The service was quick and efficient, but also very pleasant. The staff members took the time to make sure we had everything we needed and the manager/owner even came out at the end of our meal to ask how our meal was. I had the Cuban Pork Empanadas and my partner had the Reuben and both tasted fantastic and very nicely presented! It was very reasonably priced as well. Good value for your money. Would definitely return the next time I'm in town.

Yvonne P

 

“A winner in Saratoga”
September 5, 2014
I could not pick winners, at the race track, but thanks to Tripadvisor, I did very well, at dining. This place is exceptional. The decor was outstanding, with a beautiful lively bar. The food was perfect, and quickly and pleasantly served. As we enjoyed our dinner, Marylou Whitney, the wonderful ambassador for Saratoga racing, and socialite, came in for dinner, with her party. Great food AND celebrity watching! This was quite a treat for us. Also, the owner of the restaurant came over to our table to talk, and make sure that we were happy with our meal. We certainly were. It was a great experience, and we will come back again.

Dask_12

 

“Wonderful, try for a table in the back room!”
August 23, 2014
We had a party of six and I had made reservations months earlier. We had a table in the back room and it was wonderful, quiet, and not like the madhouse that might be around town during racing season. Drinks were wonderful, decent wine list and fairly priced entrees. There is a secret room behind the bookshelves that leads to the wine cellar, fun watching people come and go. Even the front of the place has a very classy feel. Service was excellent. We had not been to Saratoga before and this ended up being a great choice for one of the two dinners in town.

RKAustin

 

“Dinner for CEO/Chairman of Multinational Corp.”
August 15, 2014
I realized that I have been remiss in thanking you for putting together a dinner fit for a king (or at least a CEO/Chairman of the Board of a multinational corporation). The cozy atmosphere of the private Library dining room, delightful food and seamless attention to detail made it immensely enjoyable. The “Big Guy” was so content that he didn’t seem to want to leave. You made me look good (not always an easy task!). Thanks again

Dawn V

 

“Best Duck Dish”
August 13, 2014
I love to eat duck and the way this restaurant prepared the duck made for one delicious duck. It was one of the best duck entrees I have ever had. My husband enjoyed his steak entrée as well. As an added treat, there was entertainment on Friday night, a singer named Al who was quite good. We lingered after our meal just to hear him and we were very entertained.

she31

 

“Jackie seitz”
August 13, 2014
Awesome casual fine dining restaurant! Great food beautiful atmosphere very friendly staff that is very well versed with the menu to make sure your dining experience is very pleasurable! Make sure u make it one of your stops while visiting saratoga! The owners are wonderfully friendly also!!

Jackie S

 

“Lovely, casual restaurant after a day at the races.”
August 7, 2014
We ate dinner on Monday at The Crown Grill in Saratoga Springs, New York. This casual, lovely restaurant offers a very pleasant atmosphere in which to dine. The cocktails, wines, beers and single malt offerings are extensive. The menu is varied and includes a large selection for all palettes: seasonal starters, great salads and pasta, steaks, fish, lamb, chicken, duck and vegetarian. We enjoyed the Caesar salad, the grilled rack of lamb and the prime rib, all cooked as we requested. The servers were delightful, attentive, but not intrusive. Owner Christel was gracious and treated us as if we were guests in her home. Reasonably priced for the quality, ambience and service.

Youonlygothruonce

 

“Awesome Food and Service - what a find in Saratoga Springs!”
July 23, 2014
Next door to Circus Cafe is The Crown Grill that provided great service in helping to identify items to meet my gluten-free, dairy-free needs. Their basic salad was really very special with such interesting flavors and textures. The Grilled Rack of Lamb I had was also very unique, tender and oh so tasty! My husband had Rigatoni with Andouille and loved his dish too. We dined outside for some great people watching opportunities. However, the inside and their bar area is absolutely beautiful, comfortable and very classy with great ambiance, even the candles by the restroom area and a library area for private gatherings. Also the friendliness of the staff, hostess, waiters and servers can't be beat! It became my favorite restaurant in Saratoga Springs. I understand they offer music on certain nights, too! This is a real find, so don't miss it!

Janice C

 

“Gorgeous decor, amazing tapas and happy hour”
July 12, 2014
Visited Saratoga in fall during the quiet season. Walked from our hotel to different bars and restaurants starting with the crown grill. The decor is stunning, I couldn't stop looking around at all of the little touches- felt as though we were in a rich relative's Parlor for drinks. The servers at the bar were just as welcoming and chatted with us about other spots to check out during our overnight stay. We had buy one get one half off appetizers of empanadas and summer spring rolls. The food was plated beautifully and was absolutely delicious. Great draft beer selection, full bar of any liquor you could want. Would go back in a second!

LHO

 

“Delish!”
July 3, 2014
I always use trip advisor when going on any trip and the advise I receive is always on target! So I thought I would give back to the system! My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed Crown Grill! The service was fantastic, the beer was cold and the dinner (skirt steak and porter) were fantastic. The sides and sauces were great too!

Dee M

 

“Excellent service and Good food”
July 2, 2014
Prior to attending the Jazz festival we dined at Crown Grill. I must say that service was excellent food[ had Lamb chops] was delicious..All 4 felt that of the three previous restaurants we dined at in Saratoga Springs this had the the " big 3 " we were looking for ...good food and wine, excellent service and attentiveness ,comfortable seating and ambiance

Georgesclams

 

“Great Dinner!!”
June 27, 2014
First time eating at the Crown Grill - with all the really good restaurants in town, especially on Broadway, you need to be good, and the Crown Grill was awesome. Service was very good, but it was about the food. Started with the cuban pork empanada's, which were delicious. I had the oven roasted sea bass and my wife had the filet - both were fantastic. I am extremely picky when it comes to restaurants, as I travel the Northeast, and this was one of the better meals I've had in a long time. Highly recommended!!

Craigwen

 

“Like eating in Heaven”
June 9, 2014
Went to Crown Grill with 5 other friends. Pauline our waitress and Anthony the manager were AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!! They were the best of the very best. The ambience is like eating in heaven. The food well lets put it this way, you will NOT be disappointed. That also is like a big slice of heaven. Great place to really enjoy a nite out. Six people and six awesome dinners. Thanks for a perfect nite

Judith K

 

“Great food”
May 1, 2014
A royal atmosphere, fantastic skirt steak topped w crab. The crab was delish in top of a tender skirt steak. Crabcake appetizer was also wonderful - highly recommend this place !!!

PharmIDGirl

 

“The experience”
March 22, 2014
We were traveling from NYC to Saratoga during Spring Break with our 2 kids to visit schools. Starving we looked around and noticed 2 brightly colored restaurants next to each other on Broadway. We decided to go in and that is when we had 'the experience'. The restaurant is breathtaking, we were seated promptly and the service was impeccable. We ordered everything from hamburgers to steak and seafood. Needless to say we inhaled our dinner and forks were flying as we were tasting each others dish. This restaurant has it all and we would highly recommend it to anyone visiting anywhere near Saratoga. We look forward to our next 'experience' at the Crown Grill!

June E

 

“Far exceeded expectations”
February 16, 2014

My wife and I went to this establishment for a valentines dinner by chance. No openings anywhere else and found this place on the web. All I can say is awesome!!! The filet was to die for, cooked to perfection, bearnaise sauce was perfect, by far the best steak I have ever had (and I've eaten lots of steak over the yrs) the creme brûlée was hands down the best I've ever had, lighter and fluffier than traditional recipes I've tried over the yrs. overall my experience was perfect, prices were perfectly set for the quality of the meal! Long story short I've found my new restaurant to frequent.

Greggyb0404

 

“Anniversary Dinner”
January 11, 2014
We enjoy Saratoga Springs as a get-away location and found a new treat there this winter. We ate our 44th anniversary dinner at the Crown Grill and couldn't have asked for a better meal! We treated ourselves to a steak dinner that was perfect all the way around. Not only was the steak cooked just the way we asked, but the potatoes and vegetables were just the right portion. And to top it off, our waitress, Pauline, was outstanding! She kept an eye on us without being annoying and knew just when we needed more water or bread sticks and went out of her way to have a special drink made for me. She made us feel at home on our special day.

Marilou M P - TripAdvisor

 

“Six Stars”
January 1, 2014

Many Thanks to the entire staff at the "CROWN" for what turned out to be a memorable family holiday party on Sunday 12/29.The food, service, and hospitality goes to just what awesome people you are! After such a busy holiday week, to give 30 "lively" family members the service you did, is what makes you folks so special. It will be remembered by all of us, and we look forward to another outing with some special people!! Thanks again and Happy New Year to all.

happycouple77 - TripAdvisor

 

“Top notch food and service”
December 12, 2013

The food at the Crown Grill is delicious and the staff really provides a great dining experience - very professional and top-notch.

Steve Y

 

Guest Comment
December 17, 2013
I’m a food-lover and restaurant business veteran who has dined in the MacLean’s restaurants for the past several years. I’ve never left feeling the food or service was lacking or out of joint. On a visit to the Crown a few months ago, my wife’s sea bass was one of the best she had, and my New York Strip was cooked to perfect Pittsburgh as ordered, whereas most restaurants drop the ball. And topping off the evening? Never once did a hostess or waiter insinuate through body language, a withering glare, or put-upon tone that our presence or desire to have our questions answered was an imposition. And the Creme Brulee was superior. The End.

Thomas M.

 

"Crown Grill Seeks to Stand Out with Distinctive Decor, Menu that Aims High"
December 15, 2013

There isn't another restaurant on Broadway in Saratoga Springs that feels quite like the Crown Grill. Two chandeliers hang trapped in winding wire orbs, creating the look of a magic trick challenging you to pull the metal rings away one at a time while keeping the lighting intact. The bartender shimmies a cocktail shaker in front of a wall illuminated by a powerfully deep blue light. Dapper, wraparound leather booths across from the bar require a tall step to climb into. Lamps, small and large mirrors, a wide-screen TV, candles, oversized framed prints of playing cards and plush fabrics ornament the space.

Colin and Christel MacLean opened this space aiming to invite a wide sphere of clientele: business diners, couples, the summer-money track crowd, someone sauntering down the street who just wants to pop in and watch the game. They'll all feel comfortable here and will likely leave satisfied.

Chef Jordan Patregnani's menu of American standards with some international twists is executed well… His grilled rack of lamb with Thai grape and garlic crust tasted as though it had been deliciously dunked in a sticky bath of dark fruit that was still subtle enough to not distract you from the blissful medallions themselves.

The MacLeans have cultivated strong beverage options, headed by an extensive wine list heavy with fruity California and New Zealand offerings that drink well. The deep selection of single malts, bourbon and ryes seems tailored for track-goers, and the roughly 30 mixed drinks are well conceived. Spicy cocktails often miss either because they're too hot or too sweet, but Crown Grill's "Spice of Life" wins with mild hints of muddled jalapeno chilled by a mint-stuffed ice cube bobbing in agave nectar, Stoli hot mix and dry vermouth.

Crown Grill opened in May, next to the MacLean's Broadway mainstay, Circus Cafe.

Read Full Review

Times Union Review Excerpt

 

Guest Email
December 11, 2013

Christel & Colin-
I wanted to thank you and your staff for the great job you did last night in coordinating and executing our reception.  I have received many compliments today and I do believe that everyone enjoyed themselves.  You are gracious hosts, great organizers and you attract good people who enjoy their work and working for you.  Sign us up for next year. I think we have established an annual tradition.

Tom (Global Foundries Holiday Party)

 

"Excellent Dining"
December 9, 2013

My colleagues and I went to dinner at The Crown a Grill and we enjoyed it so much that we went back for a second night. The waitress was excellent, the energy was so positive. We had two outstanding meals. The beet salad was delicious as was all of the food. A taste of a beer or drink is available to see if you like it. It was one of the best restaurant experiences I have had in a long time. Can't wait to go to Saratoga again just to go back to the restaurant. Hats off to the chef and waitress!

Betsey428 - TripAdvisor

 

"Wonderful experience, amazing food."
November 11, 2013

My finance and I visited The Crown Grill for the first time on a Saturday night. Having been patrons of Circus Café and Sperry’s (formerly owned and operated by the owners of The Crown Grill), we were excited to visit. Although it was a spur of the moment decision, a quick phone call ensured us reservations one hour later – we were right on time and our booth was ready for us upon arrival. The restaurant is beautiful and provides a romantic, relaxed and cozy ambiance. From our booth I was able to see what looked like a library, which I later learned can be converted into a private space for events.

The wine and cocktail list was extensive and while we selected drinks, our server brought us fresh rosemary and cracked pepper breadsticks. We were having a hard time deciding between a few appetizers, when a staff member recommended the Vietnamese Summer Rolls (julienned veggies, mint, rice noodles and lime chili sauce), so we took her advice. The rolls were amazing, plated like sushi in a bed of chili sauce, they were light, incredibly flavorful and the appropriate amount for two to share. The mint really popped and the chili sauce was the highlight of the dish. It was by far the best appetizer I’ve had in a long while and I could have easily had them as a lunch entree.

Although the menu was robust, we both ordered beef dishes (the NY Strip and a Filet Mignon) for entrees. Both were served with fingerling potatoes and roasted asparagus in (what I think was) a melted herbed butter sauce that provided a rich taste without overwhelming the vegetables. You could choose your choice of sauce with each steak (it was plated nicely on the side of the meat, rather than slathering the meat) and each piece of beef was cooked perfectly (medium-rare and medium) and were prime cuts. The entrees also arrived hot, not warm, something I very much appreciated.

Although we were full after our appetizer and entrees, we did sample some dessert! There was also a large menu of after dinner drink and cordials to choose from. We opted to split the chocolate flourless cake, which came with a frosting similar to ganache topped with Hawaiian sea salt. I was hesitant about the salt at first (I don’t cook with salt nor do I ever use a salt shaker at the table), but it was outstanding and went so well with the sweet chocolate. The cake itself was dense, but moist and a generous amount to split if you just want a sampling. As we finished and settled our bill, our sever brought over two bite sized tarts filled with a whipped fruit filling and topped with a raspberry, which were also delicious.

Throughout the evening the staff was attentive and helpful. We were not at all rushed, enjoying a leisurely dinner. Courses were evenly spaced and not served too closely together. We had a wonderful experience and will definitely be back.

Cee B - Trip Advisor

 

"Do not walk past this gem!!!"
October 8, 2013

We are two fine dining servers who often leave disappointed when we go out for a meal ourselves. Being "in the business" we deliver top notch service and top notch food, but rarely seem to experience it in return. We came to visit Saratoga and decided last minute to grab lunch. After passing SEVERAL outdoor venues, we stopped at the Crown Grill to see the menu. It had outdoor seating and what seemed like a diverse menu. We are spoiled and are always in search something unique. Trevor quickly greeted us and sat us outside in the cozy, and somehow private outdoor patio. He knew the menu well. We were super pleased with the wines by the glass. And easily found 2 apps and 2 entrees for our lunch. The menu offered so much more than a typical lunch menu would and the service was absolutely on point . This restaurant is new and is absolutely beautiful on the inside also. Very unique and again cozy seating on the inside along with a beautiful bar. The lunch food and service was so ridiculously good, we will be making the trip again soon to experience their dinner. Trevor was absolutely a breath of fresh air as was this restaurant in it's entirety. There are a lot of restaurants to choose from in this town, but this one really stands out. Thank you for FINALLY giving us the superb experience we are constantly searching for!

AKMiller25 - TripAdvisor

 

"Excellent Food and Service"
August 17, 2013

We ate there last night and couldn't have had a better meal. It was a rather bustling downtown night during track season, when restaurants can be too overwhelmed to focus on all the details that make the meal a standout, but Crown Grill delivered on all counts. Our server, Ryan, was warm and welcoming. We started with a heirloom tomato/fresh mozzarella appetizer garnished with sprigs of purple basil. Tomatoes were ripe and juicy and the fresh mozz was butter soft and creamy. My husband said his 12-oz. New York strip steak, crowned with a cap of herb butter, was cooked perfectly and divine. He also loved the sides of haricot verts and fingerling potatoes. Now for the drumroll leading to my entree: The Sea Bass, topped with crisp pancetta, shaved fennel, thinly sliced apples, and drizzled generously in a caramel-colored Pernod demi-glace. It was hands-down the best sea bass I've ever had. So amazing was each bite, I had a waitress bring me a spoon in order to lap up every last drop of the demi...and was truly mournful as I finished the final bite of the fish, which was astonishingly soft and juicy. We split a dessert of raspberry-topped creme brulee which was perfect in its sweet richness. Why else waste the calories on a creme brulee if it's not swoon-worthy? This was...so was the entire dining experience - we'll be back.

Stacey M. - TripAdvisor

 

Guest Email
July 26, 2013

Awesome apps - last night a friend and I made dinner of four apps - Mussels, Peach with Brie, Summer Rolls and Empanadas - we talked afterwards - if you had to give up one, which would it be? - We were stumped - they were all fantastic - will do exactly that again - Thank You Christel and Colin for another first-rate restaurant in downtown Saratoga Springs

H.S.E.

 

"Crown Grill--Really Cool New Spot in Saratoga Springs"
May 16, 2013

As a frequent visitor to Saratoga Springs, I like to try out any new restaurants that crop up on the main strip in town. After being away for about a year, there were several new spots to choose from but after reading that it was affiliated with, and owned by, the same owners as The Circus Cafe, I put it to the top of the list. My wife and I always make a point to visit Circus when in town as it has a very lively atmosphere and great family style food.

We arrived early in the evening just one week after the opening. Our host was very informative and accomodating to our many questions and was even kind enough to give us a guided tour of the deceptively large space. The owners did a fantastic job with the place, Chandeliers and high tops adorn the bar room which also features one of the most impressive bars I have seen in a long time. The restaurant also features a back room which gives one the feeling of being in an elegant study. Book cases line the wall and they even have created a back drop of the track which gives the illusion that you are overlooking the paddock. SO COOL!

The food was nothing short of amazing. I hadn't had a steak in months but decided to go for the 20 oz Delmonico. It was cooked exactly to spec and was easily one of the best steaks i've ever had. My wife has the California Salmon and was equally impressed.

So excited that Broadway has a restaurant that really stands out from the crowd. Well done guys! We will definitely be back.

Dave S. - Trip Advisor

 

Guest Email
June 6, 2013

I can't tell you how much Marlene and I enjoyed our visit to your new restaurant. We stopped in for a quick bite with no reservations and were warmly greeted at the door by your hostess, then were treated by Pauline to some of the best service we have ever experienced. Halfway through dinner I mentioned to Marlene that I felt like we were on the upper east side at some of our favorite restaurants.

Later.. Pauline and Ronnie showed us your Library room and I have no doubt that we will be booking it for some of our client events. Congratulations on a fine addition to the local dining scene. Have a great summer...

Mike O.

 

"Exceeded Our Expectations!"
June 2, 2013

Went with friends after waiting for opening jitters to wear off! Got there early and enjoyed a drink at the bar. Bartender very friendly and spoke about the renovation of the building, which was most amazing! Not disappointed by any means. These are formers partners in Sperry's and they know the restaurant business. Did a great job in the renovation of this space and make sure you visit the library to see the stable scene that adds great depth and scenery to the room. The climate control of air conditioning makes dining very comfortable in this room. Remember this is Saratoga! Okay enough said about the amenities-----

Staff very accommodating to service and led by Pauline, made our dining experience excellent. She knows the menu and did not steer us wrong. The blue cheese wedge is a must as were the curry mussels...but the best was yet to come! We ordered scallops and companion couple ordered duck, which knocked the ball out of the ballpark! Very tasty and good portion size. Wavered between scallops and the Delmonico steak and settled on the scallops after Pauline suggested I try the scallops. Couldn't finish them and size was amazingly large. Pricing was very fair and very much in line with other restaurants I patronize. No room for dessert but will save that for another visit! A great dining experience and a great job of building and decorating this restaurant. The added touch of having a excellent and knowledgeable server, Pauline, made our dining experience five stars! Get to this venue before track season opens as it is sure to be very busy!

UncleMoChampion - TripAdvisor

 

"Absolutely Delicious"
May 15, 2013

I am definitely a foodie, and visiting from NYC I wasn't expecting a lot from a restaurant in Saratoga Springs. Well let's just say I was pleasantly shocked to discover Crown Grill. The food was incredible, the ambiance sexy and high-end, the music (jazz) was perfect, and the food was on-par with the better NYC restaurants.

Sarah W. - Yelp.com